2012 Pantone Color of the Year

So, I’m a little behind. No big deal… I tweeted this when Pantone released it but in all fairness, I said I’d blog it so here we go.

The 2012 Pantone Color of the Year is Tangerine Tango & I, for one & ecstatic that it’s orange. Orange has always been one of my favorite colors & dare I say, it’s my favorite “bright.” Because I’m certifiably insane, I have several favorite colors, I can’t be tied down to just one, except, as you know from reading, Navy is my favorite of all but within the different shades/tones/saturation’s, I have my favorites.

I’m a particular fan of orange because it gives us the cheerful, happy qualities of yellow with the bold, intensity of red. I’m a color theory enthusiast so the fact that orange can make such a statement but without stressing your eye as much a red or yellow would makes it a pretty stand-up color in my book.

And, the best part: it looks AH-MA-ZING with Navy & with several other blues as well. Orange & blue are compliments but just be careful when pairing your favorite shades because the last thing you want is for someone to think you’ve gone all out with a Howard-Johnson’s theme (we all remember the Ho-Jo’s, right?), orange & turquoise, or full-on Florida Gators idea, royal & orange so if you’re going to use Tangerine Tango, for instance, I’d pair it with either a Navy or a greyed out turquoise/aqua.

This color will most likely make it’s way into accessories for Spring market which means they’ll reach consumers by Fall… The circulation isn’t that fast so by this time next year, we’ll see many more items in the Tangerine colors like we’re seeing lots of things in Honeysuckle (2011 Pantone Color of the Year) now.

I’d like to know, will you embrace Tangerine Tango?

Vote in the poll below!

 

Thanks for reading. Feel free to comment & tweet me @JamieBertolini – talk soon!

 

Leave a Reply

